UAE stops new visas to citizens of 13 Muslim countries

UAE stops new visas to citizens of 13 Muslim countries


Dubai: The United Arab Emirates has stopped issuing new visas to citizens of 13 mostly Muslim-majority countries, including Iran, Syria, Afghanistan and Pakistan, according to a document issued by a state-owned business park.

A source briefed on the matter told Reuters the visas had temporarily stopped being issued to Afghans, Pakistanis and citizens of several other countries over security concerns, but did not provide details of those concerns.

Also Read:Ambulance Meets Accident in Kalaroos; Driver, Employee Sustain Injuries

The document, sent to companies operating in the park and seen by Reuters, cited an immigration circular that came into effect on Nov. 18.

Seen by Reuters, the document said applications for new employment and visit visas had been suspended for nationals – those outside the UAE – of 13 countries that also included Somalia, Libya and Yemen until further notice.

Also Read:Join hands with PAGD: Muzaffar Shah to Altaf Bukhari

The ban also applies to citizens of Algeria, Kenya, Iraq, Lebanon, Tunisia and Turkey, it says.

It was not clear if there were any exceptions to the ban.

The UAE’s Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship had no immediate comment when contacted by Reuters.

Also Read:Four people from Shopian goes missing in New Delhi

The circular took effect a week after the French Embassy in the UAE urged its citizens to maintain vigilance after a bomb attack in Saudi Arabia on diplomats claimed by Islamic States.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *