Farooq, Omar express grief over demise of Th Rachpal Singh

Farooq, Omar express grief over demise of Th Rachpal Singh

JAMMU: National Conference President Dr Farooq Abdullah and Vice President Mr Omar Abdullah today expressed shock and grief over the passing away of former MLA and senior leader Thakur Rachpal Singh, describing the death as a great loss to the party.
Th Rachpal Singh breathed his last after a brief illness this morning at Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Narayana Super Specialty Hospital, Kakrayal here, leaving behind his wife, son and two daughters.
Two times MLA from Kalakote Assembly Constituency in Rajouri district, Th Rachpal Singh has remained Vice Chairman J&K Kissan Advisory Board, President NC State Centre Labour Union, Central Secretary Jammu and Kashmir National Conference, Provincial Vice President Jammu, and Deputy Leader in Legislative Assembly.
“Thakur Rachpal Singh ji will always be remembered for his tireless contribution in ameliorating the lot of peasants, labour fraternity, weaker sections and downtrodden people of Jammu and Kashmir in general and Rajouri-Poonch belt in particular”, Dr Farooq Abdullah said in a message, adding that his selfless service will remain guiding force and inspiration for younger generation of National Conference cadres. In his death, the party has lost a dedicated, sincere and hardworking leader whose role in strengthening the bonds of amity and brotherhood between various segments of society, he added.
In his condolence message, Vice President Mr Omar Abdullah expressed grief over the death of a senior colleague from Kalakote Rajouri, saying, “ Only yesterday, I spoke to him (Th Rachpal Singh) to wish him well. He was on oxygen support but in good spirits. Less than 24 hours later he is no more. My prayers are with his family”.
Dr Farooq Abdullah and Mr Omar Abdullah prayed for peace to the departed soul and strength to the bereaved family to bear this irreparable loss.
National Conference General Secretary Haji Ali Mohammed Sagar, in his condolence message, described Th. Rachpal Singh as leader par excellence, saying he will be remembered for his qualities as a seasoned politician and a gentleman, who strived hard for progress and development of his constituency besides strengthening the party at grass roots level.
Provincial President Mr Devender Singh Rana remembered Th Rachpal Singh for his qualities of head and heart, saying public good was the mission of his life. He recalled his services to the people of Jammu and Kashmir in general and Rajouri district in particular, saying his departure has left a big vacuum in the party which is hard to be filled.
Mr Sagar and Rana conveyed their condolences to the bereaved family and expressed solidarity with them at this hour of grief. They prayed for peace to the departed soul.
Senior party leaders also expressed grief and shock over the demise of Th Rachpal Singh, conveyed condolences to the bereaved family and prayed for peace to the departed soul. They included Ajay Kr. Sadhotra, Surjeet Singh Slathia, Rattan Lal Gupta, Th Kashmira Singh, Mushtaq Ahmed Bukhari, , Sajjad Ahmed Kichloo, Sheikh Bashir Ahmed, Javed Ahmed Rana, Khalid Najeeb Suharwardhy, Babu Rampaul, Abdul Gani Malik, Qazi Jalal Ud din, Brij Mohan Sharma, Jugal Mahajan, Dr. Chaman Lal Bhagat, Mohd Aslam Khan, Ajaz Jan, Trilochan Singh Wazir, Jagjeevan Lal, Gurdeep Singh Sasan, Surinder Singh Bunty, Rahim Daad, Haji Mohd Hussain, Master Noor Hussain, Sheikh Abdul Rehman, Vipan Pal Sharma, Mohd Iqbal Bhat, Bimla Luthra, Prem Sagar Aziz, Bushan Lal Bhat, Satwant Kour Dogra, Vijay Laxmi Dutta, Dilshad Malik, Vijay Lochan, Abdul Gani Teli, Bashir Ahmed Wani, Ch. Liaquat Ali Adv, Nar Singh, Sajjad Shaheen, Deepender Kour, Swarn Lata, Dharamveer Singh Jamwal, Pradeep Bali, Anil Dhar, Wali Dad, Dr. Gagan Bhagat, Rita Gupta, Israr Khan, Ch. Haroon, Chander Mohan Sharma, Bushan Uppal, Som Nath Khajuria, Tanveer Kichloo, Dr. Shamshad Shan, Ajeet Kumar Sharma, Sunil Verma, Bagh Hussain Rathore, Shafayat Khan, Muzaffar Iqbal Khan, Riaz Malik,Rakesh Singh Raka, Rohit Bali, S. Tejinder Singh, Nitish Gowsami, Iftkhair Choudhary, Matti Ur Rehman, Jatinder Singh Chib, Zahangir Malik, Syed Naveed Hashmi, Rakesh Sharma, Akash Verma, Farooq Mir Gazi, Munzail Malik.
Earlier, the Condolence meeting was held at Sher I Kashmir Bhawan, Jammu today to mourn the demise of Th. Rachpal Singh. Two- minute silence was also observed as a mark of respect to the departed soul.
Condolences meetings over the death of Th Rachpal Singh were also held at all the district and block headquarters with District Presidents and Block Presidents recalling the services of the late leader for betterment of the people. They also conveyed condolences to the bereaved family and prayed for peace to the departed soul.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Caste System in Kashmir- A menace to the marriages

Sibgat Fatima “To dehumanize another human being is not merely to declare that someone is not human” (Isabel Wilkerson) Caste also known as Kram in Kashmiri language, an endogamous and a hereditary group limited to persons of the same rank, occupation, and economic position as described by the society. During Ancient Kashmir, the inhabitants were […]