PSA of 14 people revoked, all released from Central Jail

PSA of 14 people revoked, all released from Central Jail

Srinagar: Administration today revoked Public Safety Act (PSA) against 14 persons who were detained in August last year ahead of scrapping of special status of Jammu and Kashmir and all of them have been released from Central Jail.


The Home Department revoked the PSA of these 14 persons who were lodged in Central Jail Srinagar and they were released today
They are Mudasir Fayaz Mir alias Aqib son of Fayaz Ahmad Mir of Kralpora, Chadoora in district Budgam, Fayaz Ahmad Batkoo son of Assad Ullah Batkoo of Reshi Mohalla, Tral Bala, in district Pulwama, Abid Hussain Sheikh son of Ghulam Mohiuddin Sheikh of Ashatngoo, Aloosa, district Bandipora, Parvaiz Ahmad Bhat son of Ali Mohammad Bhat of Sultanpora Marhama, Bijbehara in district Anantnag, Ishfaq Ahmad Dar son of Ghulam Mohiuddin Dar of SK Payeen, Bandipora, Dawood Ahmad Khan son of Mohammad Akbar Khan of Anderwali Sangerwani, Pulwama, Junaid Ahmad Khan son of Hasmatullah Khan of Brah Shangus in district Anantnag, Mehrajuddin Dentoo son of Ghulam Mohiuddin Dentoo of Malbafh Kralgund in district Kupwara, Mohammad Musaib Kanwaloo son of Ali Mohammad Kanwaloo of Nowpora in district Baramulla, Mohammad Iqbal Gorsi son of Keema Gorsi of Sangerwani in district Pulwama, Shahid Farooq Sofi son of Farooq Ahmad Sofi of Sempora Bomai in district Baramulla, Ghulam Mohiuddin Pandit son of Mohammad Asadullah Pandit of Bonpora, Pattan in district Baramulla, Nazaraf Hussain Khatana son of Bashir Ahmad Khatana of Sangerwani in district Pulwama and Suheel Ahmad Shagoo son of Habibullah Shagoo of Langate in district Kupwara.

Earlier in January 10 this year, the PSA of 26 people was revoked and they were later released from different jails including 10 from Central Jail Srinagar. This is the highest number of PSA revocations since then.

Earlier this month, authorities revoked the PSA of former Chief Minister Dr Farooq Abdullah on March 13 and his son and former Chief Minister Omar Abdullah on March 24. Both these leaders were released from the custody.
However, there are presently over 380 people who are under detention in different jails under PSA. They include Bar Association president Mian Abdul Qayoom and Traders president Yaseen Khan.
Besides these, several political leaders including former Chief Minister and president of Peoples Democratic Party leader, Mehbooba Mufti, PDP leaders Naeem Akhtar, Sartaj Madni, Peer Mansoor, NC leaders Ali Mohammad Sagar, Hial Lone and former IAS officer and head of Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Movement, Dr Shah Faisal are booked under PSA.


Share and Enjoy !

0 0 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


At the time of COVID-19 a series Paintings by M. Akram Khan

Reasi: A series of paintings created by M. Akram Khan at its artist studio at Reasi on the theme of Covid-19, M. Akram Khan is a noted and veteran contemporary artist of national reputed and born in Reasi, at the time of COVID-19 he painted natural vibrant colours of the land and its people who […]